Major Resources Support & Facilities

The Institute of Particle Physics (IPP) and the Canadian Institute of Nuclear Physics (CINP) facilitate the access to services for the development and fabrication of instrumentation for the Canadian subatomic physics community. These essential resources are supported by the NSERC SAP MRS Program. Resources are managed by the Pan-Canadian MRS Technical Coordination Board, consisting of representatives from all the institutions holding a SAP MRS grant (University of Alberta, Carleton University, Université de Montréal, University of Victoria and University of Winnipeg), the IPP and CINP Directors, a representative from TRIUMF and two members at large. Current Board members are listed below. See the NSERC MRS Supported Technical Teams Management Agreement for more details.

The SAP MRS program offers access to a skilled set of technical, engineering, electronics and physics personnel augmented by laboratories with data acquisition facilities, fabrication areas and machine shops.

Members of the subatomic physics community can obtain further information from the following websites and by contacting one of faculty members of the centres: Jim Pinfold (Alberta), Jean-Francois Arguin (Université de Montréal),  Kevin Graham (Carleton), Randy Sobie (Victoria), Blair Jamieson (Winnipeg).

Resource requests are to be submitted via this fillable pdf Request Form. Users should  email the completed Request Form to the Pan-Canadian MRS Technical Coordination Board via this email link. The resource request will then be reviewed by the Board with resource allocations made in accordance with the guidelines described in the NSERC MRS Supported Technical Teams Management Agreement.


                    Pan-Canadian MRS Technical Coordination Board

                                                       January 2023





Jean-François Arguin

UdeM rep.

U. de Montreal


Miriam Diamond

At large

U. of Toronto

Assistant Professor

Kevin Graham

Carleton rep.

Carleton U.


Garth Huber

CINP Director

U. Regina


Blair Jamieson

Winnipeg rep.

U. Winnipeg

Associate Professor

Rituparna Kanungo

At large

St Mary’s U.


Jim Pinfold

Alberta rep.

U. of Alberta


Fabrice Retiere



Senior Research Scientist

Carsten B Krauss

IPP Director

U. of Alberta


Randall Sobie

UVic rep.

U. of Victoria

IPP Principal Research Scientist