MENU

IPP Summer Student Program: Undergraduate Research Experience at CERN & in Canada

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic the IPP Summer Student program will  be online in 2021 with summer students engaging with researchers in Canada and at CERN remotely.   The 2021 program is currently open for applications with a deadline of Thursday, 21 January 2021.

CERN, the European Laboratory for Particle Physics, is the home of the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) and the birthplace of the World Wide Web.

The Institute of Particle Physics supports Canadian undergraduate students participating in the CERN summer student program. To get some idea of what our student are doing during their time at CERN have a look at our list of past recipients with links to their research reports. (Note that in 2020 the program operated with students working with Canadian particle physics researchers online.)

Students selected for the program will spend from late June to the end of August working with active research groups at CERN, one of the world’s premier international laboratories. They will also attend attend a series of lectures remotely, specially prepared for them by CERN-based researchers. Prior to the CERN component of the program, students will work on a subatomic physics project under a Canadian supervisor in May and June so that they will spend a minimum of 15 weeks on research over the course of the summer. The May–June period is normally spent in Canada during which time students are supported by the supervisor and an NSERC USRA position or a summer studentship at TRIUMF (see below). IPP will assist students to find a suitable project/supervisor. Students are encouraged to learn about some of the possible projects by visiting the IPP Projects pages for projects collecting data and  projects currently under construction.

A good idea of the kinds of possible research projects students may be involved in can be gained from viewing student research papers from previous years.

Eligibility

The program is open to Canadian Citizens and permanent residents. At the time of application students must be registered in an undergraduate program at a Canadian university, leading to a Bachelor of Science or Engineering degree. They should be within two years of graduation by the beginning of the summer they are applying to spend in the program. They must be majoring in physics, engineering, or computer science. Students who have previously spent a summer at CERN (whether part of this program or not) are not eligible.

Successful applicants are expected to also hold either an NSERC USRA or TRIUMF summer student position.  Although the program is administered and partially funded by the Institute of Particle Physics, the IPP does not have NSERC USRA positions to award and does not administer the TRIUMF positions. Students are expected to pursue these options by also applying for an NSERC USRA position at a Canadian university or directly to TRIUMF. Note that the deadlines at the host university or TRIUMF may be earlier.

Applications

To apply for the IPP Summer Student Fellowship:

Please email, as a single attachment in PDF format, the following material to admin@ipp.ca:

Also arrange for one or two letters of recommendation to be emailed by the letter writers directly to admin@ipp.ca.

(Note: Do not send these to CERN, but directly to the IPP.)

Deadline

Applications for the 2021 program is now open and application material must be received by 23:00EST Thursday 21 January 2021.

We will notify successful applicants before the end of January in time for them to take action on possible NSERC USRA or TRIUMF summer student position offers.

Questions

Questions should be directed via e-mail to admin@ipp.ca.

Further Information

Partners

Travel and stipend components of this program are generously supported by the following partners:

MENU

Programme d'été de l'IPP: Une expérience d'été en recherche de premier cycle au Canada & CERN

Le CERN, laboratoire européen de physique des particules, abrite le grand collisionneur (LHC). C’est aussi le lieu de naissance du World Wide Web.

L’IPP apporte un soutien aux étudiant(e)s de premier cycle participant au programme d’été du CERN. Pour vous faire une idée de ce que nos étudiant(e)s ont réalisé lors de leur séjour au CERN, consultez la liste de nos récipiendaires passés; cette page contient des liens vers leurs rapports de recherche.

Les étudiants ou étudiantes choisi(e)s dans le cadre de ce programme passeront de la fin juin à la fin août dans des équipes de recherche actives au CERN, l’un des plus grands laboratoires de recherche au monde. Aux mois de mai et de juin, avant de se rendre au CERN, ces étudiant(e)s travailleront sur un projet de physique subatomique sous la direction d’un superviseur canadien, de sorte qu’ils feront un minimum de 15 semaines de recherche pendant l’été. Durant cette période, généralement passée au Canada, ils recevront un soutien financier de leur superviseur et un poste BRPC-CRSNG ou un poste d’étudiant d’été à TRIUMF (voir ci-dessous). L’IPP aidera les étudiant(e)s à trouver un projet/superviseur adéquat. Nous encourageons les étudiant(e)s à explorer les pages de projets de l’IPP pour passer en revue les différents projets.

En consultant les rapports de recherche rédigés au cours des années précédentes, les étudiant(e)s auront une meilleure idée des possibilités de projets.

Éligibilité

Le programme est ouvert aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents. Au moment de postuler, les étudiant(e)s doivent être inscrit(e)s dans une université canadienne dans un programme de premier cycle menant à un diplôme en science ou ou génie. Ils ou elles doivent être à deux ans au plus d’obtenir leur diplôme au début de l’été où commencerait leur séjour au CERN. Leurs études doivent comporter une majeure en physique, en génie ou en sciences informatiques. Les étudiant(e)s ayant déjà passé un été au CERN, que ce soit dans le cadre de ce programme ou non, ne sont pas éligibles.

Le processus de sélection et le soutien financier ont été organisés de sorte que les étudiant(e)s préparant leur diplôme au sein d’universités canadiennes peuvent bénéficier en même temps de la position IPP, et d’un poste d’été BRPC-CRSNG ou d’un poste d’étudiant d’été à TRIUMF.

Bien que le programme soit administré et en partie financé par l’Institut de physique des particules, l’IPP n’est pas responsable d’allouer les postes BRPC-CRSNG ni les postes à TRIUMF. Nous encourageons les étudiant(e)s à poursuivre ces options en faisant une demande de poste BRPC-CRSNG dans une université canadienne ou en postulant directement à TRIUMF. Veuillez noter que les dates limites dans les universités hôtes ou à TRIUMF peuvent être différentes.

Demandes d’inscription

Pour faire une demande d’inscription au programme d’été du CERN à l’IPP :

Veuillez envoyer par courriel, en pièce jointe au format PDF, le matériel suivant à admin@ipp.ca :

De plus, une ou deux lettres de recommandation (envoyées par les références directement à l’IPP à admin@ipp.ca) sont requises.

(Remarque : N’envoyez pas ces lettres au CERN mais à l’IPP).

Date Limite

La date limite de candidature pour le programme 2020 est le mardi 14 janvier 2020.

Nous informerons les candidat(e)s choisi(e)s pour ces postes avant la fin du mois de janvier, ce qui leur donnera le temps nécessaire pour prendre en compte tout autre offre possible venant du BRPC-CRSNG ou de TRIUMF.

Questions

Toutes questions doivent être adressées par courriel à admin@ipp.ca.

Informations complémentaires

Les partenaires

Les partenaires suivants contribuent généreusement aux frais de voyages et aux per diem de ce programme :